Shattered waters, shattered magic

Edited and reposted on my deviantArt account.

Don’t mind me, I’m just trying to work out the mechanics of how certain elements of magic work in some of my storylines.
Consider this a “first draft” of the idea.

Oddly enough, the reason I came up with this had little to do with figuring out how the magic worked, and much to do with deciding why some of my major characters might not be precisely human.

A long time ago, a distant and faded memory to even the oldest of realms, the worlds were separated by a powerful barrier.

Vast seas of pure magic flowed between one world and another, transcending time and space, and denying access to any who did not have the courage or the skill to cross them.
There were few, then, that knew there were other worlds to find.

The dragons, in their many shapes and kinds, were travelers by nature, and not unfamiliar with magic.
Then there were the mages, and the creatures they often summoned to act as familiars.
And there was one kitten who, it was believed, learned to cross these seas through sheer force of will.
And there were still other beings who knew the way.

There were also the Wandering Ones, bound to the magic as it was bound to them.
They were not vessels, but living embodiments of this magic. Their natures directed the flow of the magic: where it flowed, how strong it was, how best to use it. And how it was used changed that flow again and influenced their natures.
The Wandering Ones were believed to be human once (or what passed for human in a given world), but their relationship with the magic’s flow changed them. Some grew fur, or feather, or scales. Some possessed wings, while others had tails. Some learned to tame these changes, and others became wild things.

All of this was before the waters shattered.

Nobody truly knows what happened. All anyone knows is that life was once normal—each world with its own definition of “normal”—and then things were not.
The barrier between realms was shattered, and people found themselves thrust into unfamiliar territory, or hosting unexpected company from still other places.
And when the barrier shattered, the magic ceased to flow as it once had. Instead of flowing around and between the worlds, it flowed into them, merging with the water itself.

And everyone exposed to these shattered waters began to change.
First the creatures living in the seas. Then those on the shorelines, along the rivers and lakes. Finally the changes spread inland, away from the water itself. Even the desert dwellers were not unchanged.

This entry was posted in Excerpt, In Progress and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Shattered waters, shattered magic

  1. I’m LOVING your style of writing. Do you have anything published yet? I also have a few extracts on my site. I don’t think they are quite the same as what you are writing about, but primarily fiction (although not what I’ve published so far).
    I must follow your blog from now on, and I have another friend who is also a fantasy writer. I’m sure she’d be keen to follow your progress too.

    Best wishes,

    Alyson

    Like

    • Aw, thanks!
      I have to confess, though, depending on what you mean by “style,” your comment might be a two-edged sword. This draft was somewhere between a “stream-of-consciousness” and an actual attempt at writing out the ideas, so the “style” might find itself changing during the editing process.

      To answer your question, no, nothing published yet. Nothing PROFESSIONALLY published, at any rate.
      I have a few short stories printed by my college’s literary magazine, though, and one story I intend to send off to Writers of the Future.

      If you’re interested in this particular storyline, I do have a couple of character profiles I’ve just added to deviantArt: http://sidequestpublication.deviantart.com/

      Like

      • I just really liked the way it sounded 🙂
        Also, sorry I had to remove what I reblogged…but just until I have time to create a ‘home’ page that is not my blog page. Just so people see my latest publication when they come to the site. I’ll reblog your extract (again) once I’ve done that.

        Keep up the good work!

        Best wishes,

        Alyson

        Like

        • “You can set WordPress to make a specific page your home page, if that’s what you’re looking for.”
          Just remembered–sticky threads might work, depending on what you’re going for.

          Like

    • You can set WordPress to make a specific page your home page, if that’s what you’re looking for.
      I did that over on my “public resume” blog: If you click “Home,” it takes you to my cover letter, and you have to click “Word Experience” to see the actual blog.

      (Note to self: increase the number of nested comments allowed. It’s ridiculous that I keep going back to reply to the first comment. :D)

      Like

  2. Norma says:

    Hi,
    Totally agree with Alyson. I (as she mentioned) also write fantasy and I love what you’re doing here. If you have a novel, get it on amazon kindle, pronto. You’re talented 😀
    Magic is a concept I love and forming different pilosophies on where magic comes from/how it is used etc is part of my love of fantasty.
    Keep on writing 😀

    Like

    • Thanks.
      One of these days, I might actually have a novel, instead of an “idea, in the vague shape of a story.” 😉 Soon, I hope. (It depends more on the time and effort to get it written down at this stage than it does on the imagination.)

      Meanwhile, there is that short story that started out as a flashback.
      I just need to finish editing that, and then it’s off to Writers of the Future!

      Like

      • Well, good luck with that! 🙂
        Time and effort – two very important things when you’re a writer. Try to dedicate a specific amount of time to your writing (unless you are under other deadlines, obviously). I’d say even if you spend 1-2 hours a day – you can write a scene/chapter at that rate. It’s just disciplining yourselves, which helps if you have a set time that you sit down to write. For me, I think I work best in the evening, after everything else is out the way. I can just relax and go with the flow.

        Alyson

        Like

  3. Pingback: Doctor Who rewrites | Pioneers of the Shattered Waters

Leave a Reply

